Balls of Fury

3 Dec

Monday was the Deck the Hall gathering that the ladies like to do on what we call “the long hall.”  Being mostly ladies who have it together, we’re supposed to bring some kind of finger food and put up wreaths on our office doors.  I, being one of the not so together ladies, usually either forget the food, wreath or occasionally…both.  This year I managed to bring food but didn’t have a wreath and the food I brought was not so great.  I made baklava once before and it was a big hit but this time it just sucked.  I had all the ingredients and even put them together correctly but forgot one crucial step in the process.  NO silly, I did cook it.  There’s a particular moment in the sequence of events that you slice the baklava before you bake it then when it comes out you drizzle this special high sugar and honey content super duper drizzle over it that only hummingbirds can stand without going into an immediate diabetic coma.  Anyway, it has weighed heavily on me that I have not been very successful with my Deck the Hall participation and I hoped to change that by putting up my most spectacular wreath on the most spectacular day…MY BIRTHDAY!!!

I know I’m nearly a week behind.  Granted, I was out two days this week coughing up a chinchilla out of my neck.   I was also sacked out so hard I barely woke up to eat lunch.  You know when I can’t drag myself to the table to eat something is very very wrong.  Alas, I got the idea that in order to make up for being 4-5 days late (depending on if you count Friday or not) I decided I would make a wreath unlike any other wreath on the long hall.  Instead of the usual greenery I would make……wait for it……wait for it……here it comes…..

A CHRISTMAS BALL WREATH

It took me half a dozen tries, re-starts, do-over, back-ups and a whole slew of other hyphenated words before I managed to turn this:

Into this:

I really love the colors.  It’s not the typical Christmassy colors, not that there’s anything wrong with that but I just feel like these colors are more mature and tomorrow being my birthday I think I need to start showing my mature side.  Yeah right, this from the same woman who wanted to title this post “Balls to the Wall.”  I mean Balls of Fury is kind of a compromise right.  I was furiously working trying to get this done before tomorrow.  Anyway, I like it and I’m amazed I pulled of something this nice and I dare say classy.  Though if I had to do it all over again I would maybe not have used a coat hanger and I probably would have glued the top parts of the ornaments, the part that the hook goes into if you were to hang them on a tree, glue them on to all of the ornaments instead of only gluing the ones that fell off because if you don’t glue them they eventually all fall off.  I did do a little forward thinking and get plastic balls instead of glass.  I dropped almost all of them on the floor at one point or another.   I also have to say it was nice dusting off the hot glue gun.  I haven’t used that thing in a while.  I do wish someone would show me how to use it without getting those little cobwebs of glue everywhere not to mention  hot gluing my finger a few times. 

I was working so hard on my wreath I forgot to cut my son’s hair.  Again.  See, I manage to bring food but not a wreath or a wreath and not a haircut or Kool Aid but no sugar…

 p.s.

Go check out my Etsy shop.  I don’t have any wreaths there but I did put up several of my photos for sale.

Leave a Reply

